Association of Professional Fundraisers Chapter Honors Local Leaders in Philanthropy | iSociety

AFP Awards

Loretta and Mike Merewether, Judy and Jack Stapelmann, Heidi Whitcomb, Peter Schuyler, Wilson Sherman and Carrie Hughes are recognized

As a part of National Philanthropy Day, the Association of Fundraising Professionals Santa Barbara/Ventura Counties Chapter (AFP-SBV) honored eight individuals who have made a difference in innovative ways to change the world through their gifts of time, talent and treasure.

AFP-SBV recognized the following honorees: Philanthropists of the Year, Ventura County: Loretta and Mike Merewether; Philanthropists of the Year, Santa Barbara County: Judy and Jack Stapelmann; Volunteer of the Year, Ventura County: Heidi Whitcomb; Volunteer of the Year, Santa Barbara County: Peter Schuyler; Youth Philanthropist of the Year: Wilson Sherman; and Professional Fundraiser of the Year: Carrie Hughes.

“We are so fortunate to have as many active members of the nonprofit community as we do," said Molly Kemper, National Philanthropy Day event chair and chapter board member. "Celebrating our victories and our sector reminds us of that. National Philanthropy Day is a fabulous opportunity to spotlight some of the great work being done.”

The celebration and awards luncheon took place Nov. 15 at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach. Led by masters of ceremonies and KEYT news anchors Kelsey Gerckens and Joey Buttitta, the event attracted more than 200 guests who were welcomed by AFP chapter president Steve Willmont.

“Remember how much better the community is because of philanthropy....

read more from